A Blog & Podcast by Frank Eriksen

THE USUAL SUSPECT

Thursday Oct. 13, 2011

My favorite line in the movie The Usual Suspects is when Kevin Spacey proclaims, “the greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he doesn’t exist”. Why is that my favorite line? Because it’s so true. The devil does indeed exist. There is a battle going on 24/7 for your soul and mine. Followers of Christ know the battle ends in victory, but until then, it’s all out war. I feel it everyday. Every-day!

There isn’t a moment that passes that the devil isn’t trying to lead me astray by whispering lies in my all too eager to listen ears. “You can’t do that.” “You’re a failure – always will be.” “You’re marriage will never last because you’re such a screw up.” “You’ll never get an answer from God because he doesn’t care about you.” “If God really cared about you, why would you still be struggling after all these years to find your place, your peace and your abundance.” “Follow me and I’ll give you everything you really want. Money. Fame. Power. Love.”

It reminds of when Satan tempted Jesus in the desert. Luke 4:5-8 tells the story.

5 The devil led him up to a high place and showed him in an instant all the kingdoms of the world. 6 And he said to him, “I will give you all their authority and splendor; it has been given to me, and I can give it to anyone I want to. 7 If you worship me, it will all be yours.” 8 Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God and serve him only.”

Satan’s 2nd greatest trick is his ability to get inside our heads and bring forth all our fears, hurts, and weaknesses and magnify them. And he’s so masterful at deceit, his lies are extremely subtle and very alluring.

Casting Crowns has a great song, that we play on Praise Power Radio called “Slow Fade”. Part of the song says “The journey from your mind to your hands is shorter than you’re thinking. Be careful if you think you stand, you just might be sinking. Thoughts invade, choices are made. A price will be paid.”

When Satan’s subtleties begin to take hold, when we begin that slow fade, that’s when we need to get into the Word. It’s where we find the real truth. The real power. The real love. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

My dear friend, If it means getting on your knees right this minute, do it. For there is power in the Word and God’s love is never-ending. Never! It’s not a lie. It’s His promise to us. Today, though I feel weak and worthless, I choose the truth of Jesus. You can too!

Leave a Reply

