A Blog & Podcast by Frank Eriksen

Fear Not For I Am With You.

Legendary (and that’s an understatement) coach Joe Paterno has died. There will be tributes. And rightfully so. Everyday people come into the world and everyday people pass on. Are you afraid to die? Why? It’s inevitable. There is a song and saying that goes like this: “Everybody wants to go to Heaven, but nobody wants to die.” What a true statement.

I’m not in a hurry to die but I’m not afraid either. The reason I’m not in any hurry to die is I haven’t done all I wanted to do yet. If you feel that way – I suggest we get busy! The reason I want to live longer is I feel I haven’t reached my full potential for God. Well, I had better get busy…

Ever heard the words “he’s day to day” used to describe and injured baseball player? Well, guess what? We’re all “day to day”. Anyone of us could die today. I’m ready. I know where I’m going. I know that death is not the end, but a wonderful new beginning. As a follower of Christ you should feel the same way. God has guaranteed us a life with Him through His son Jesus. I recall Jesus’ comforting words to one of the men crucified with Him. He said, “today you will be with me in paradise.” Paradise!

Once you have accepted Jesus’ offer of salvation, there’s no reason to fear death. Because on that day, you too will be with Him in paradise.

Lord, help me make my life count for You today and everyday hereafter that you so graciously give me. And when you call me home, know that I am ready.

Leave a Reply

