A Blog & Podcast by Frank Eriksen

despair 1

Jeremiah 29:11
New International Version (NIV)
11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Life is cruising along. Everything is perfect. Husband, kids, finances, career. Then one day you find a lump. Where do we go from here?

Your career is blossoming. People are taking notice. Up the ladder you climb. Everyone’s counting on you! Then one day you lose your job. Where do we go from here?

You’re everybody’s buddy. The life of the party. Everybody wants to be you. Or, so you think. Then one day your temper flares out of control and you hit your wife. Where do we go from here?

You’re away on a business trip. The convention is going well. Then one night you have a few drinks too many and fall into the arms of a man you’ve just met. He tells you how beautiful you are. He asks you to come up to his room. Where do we go from here?

You’re a model Christian. You attend church regularly. Tithe your 10% happily. Serve your community faithfully. Raise your family honorably. On the outside you present a compelling faith. But on the inside is emptiness, pain and despair. Walls closing in. Time running out. Then one day, alone in a car on a deserted highway, you stop and remove the gun from the glove box and put it to your head. Tears stream down your face. Where do we go from here?

Everyday good people face bad situations like this. Everyday we are faced with – Where do we go from here?

In the deepest pit of emotional hell, in the face of mortality, at the end of the road and in the arms of a stranger – Jesus is there.

He waits. Hoping we’ll make the right choice. Waiting for us to fall, He holds out His arms with understanding and forgiveness. Calling with a voice as gentle as a breeze. Guiding us home with a touch as soft and comforting as the pedal of a rose.

“I know the plans I have for you. Plans to prosper you. Not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future. I have seen you struggle. I know how hard you try. I understand the pain. I understand your fear. And I feel your hurt.”

“My child, you are so special to me. You are the reason I laid down my life. I am the living water you thirst for. The love you’ve been searching for.” Oh, if you could only see yourself as I see you. If you could only imagine the celebration I have planned for you, if you would just lay down your sword — and follow me. For my path is easy, smooth and straight. And I know where to go from here.“

My dear friend, sometimes the troubles of this life seem just too much to bear. The thorns and thistles of today rise up to choke out the beauty and the hope of tomorrow. There is an unspeakable joy waiting for us if we would only lay down our burdens and rise up with God. Let the war in you and let the war in me be over. Let today be the day we discover where we go from here.

Feel free to leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

Todays Song: “Jesus Will Still Be There” – Point of Grace

Leave a Reply

